Trailblazers win at Cataloochee


The Trailblazers Home School Ski and Snowboard Team won awards on Feb. 28 at Cataloochee Ski Area race finals. The team participated in weekly races this season against 16 high schools from Western North Carolina and Lincoln County.

In the season awards and final competition, Trailblazers won third place overall. The skiers won first place and a trophy for fastest male ski team. Snowboarders also won first place and a trophy for fastest male snowboarder team. Elsa Woody won second place for overall female snowboarder. Jake McFerrin won third place for overall male snowboarder.

The ski team members are Carson Phillips from Black Mountain; Kendall Walker from Swannanoa; Hutch Kearns, Gunnar Acton, Mack Dorris, Cade Martin and Hudson Cobb from Asheville; and Wyatt Miller from Fletcher.

The snowboarders Jake Mcferrin and Gray McLellan from Black Mountain, David Teo from Montreat, Scott Perry from Swannanoa, Elsa Woody from Asheville, Luke McKenzie from Horseshoe, Zeke MacMillian from Wayneville and Miles Parton from Asheville.

The coaching staff won coaching staff of the year. The staff includes head coach David Phillips from Black Mountain. Assistant coaches are Ryan McLellan from Black Mountain and Don Acton and Hutch Kearns from Asheville.