New board members elected by Black Mountain Town Council for Greenways Commission, ABC Board

Ezra Maille
Black Mountain News
Former Black Mountain Mayor Mike Sobol was elected to the Greenways Commission at the final Town Council meeting of 2021 on Dec. 13.

The Black Mountain Town Council held elections for open seats on the Greenways Commission and the ABC Board at its regular session meeting on Dec. 14, the final council meeting of 2021. 

Mike Sobel was elected to the Greenways Commission and Sharon Tabor was elected to the ABC Board. Both terms will end June 30, 2024, according to the town meeting agenda for Dec. 13.

Sobol served three terms as an alderman spanning ten years, beginning in 2003. Immediately after, Sobol served as mayor of Black Mountain from 2013-2017. 

Tabor currently serves as the executive director of the Black Mountain Swannanoa Chamber of Commerce. 

"With my chamber job, I didn't want a high profile position," Tabor said. "Do your civic duty, right?"

The council conducted the election process for the Greenways Commission seat by way of written ballots collected by town clerk Savannah Parish. As only one application was submitted for the ABC Board seat, the council voted after a motion was made by Council Member Pam King. 

Council members ended the last meeting of the year with brief messages to the community, thanking the town for its support, especially in light of the continuing pandemic throughout the past year. 

"I know it's been a very trying year for folks," said Vice Mayor Ryan Stone. "I want to thank them and commend them for doing their best and trying to keep everybody safe."