Update: Archie Pertiller Jr., Pam King, Doug Hay win alderman race; Buchanan wins reelection

Ty Roush
Black Mountain News
Black Mountain Town Hall

BLACK MOUNTAIN - Pam King, Archie Pertiller Jr. and Doug Hay will join mayor Larry Harris and alderman Tim Raines on the Black Mountain Board of Alderman.

Incumbent Peggy Buchanan won her reelection bid for the Owen District seat on the Buncombe County Board of Education with 35.6% of the vote. Linda Tatsapaugh lost by 245 votes at 35.3%.

King, Pertiller and Hay are the top three vote recipients in a group of six candidates for the Board of Aldermen, receiving 18.6%, 19.7% and 18.3% of the vote, respectively. Jennifer Willet is next in line as the fourth-highest percentage at 15%.

Former mayor Mike Sobol and Justyn Whitson have received 5% and 2% of the vote, respectively, despite dropping from the race.

The alderman trio is slated to join a board that has received criticism since Don Collins' Aug. 10 resignation as mayor and a subsequent appointment of Harris to his seat. Pertiller was then appointed to fill Harris' open seat.

"I am humbled and thrilled to be elected to Black Mountain’s Board of Aldermen," Hay said. "I’m grateful for all of the support from my family and the community, and for this opportunity to serve our town."

A Sept. 21 forum between King, Hay, Matthew Turner and Pertiller emphasized a discussion between candidates about transparency required with the board.

Both Hay and King emphasized a need for Black Mountain to complete its greenway project while developing stormwater infrastructure. King said during the forum that investing in local businesses will help the town grow.

All three agreed that the town should conduct town hall meetings to better address public concern prior to regularly scheduled board meetings.

Harris endorsed Tonia Holderman, Willet and Pertiller for the board in a Sept. 28 email. In his announcement to drop from the race, Sobol endorsed King, Hay and Turner.

Pertiller, Hay and King will assume their seats during the board's regularly scheduled meeting in December.

Harris and Raines will seek reelection in 2022.

Board of Alderman

Final vote count for the Board of Aldermen:

  • Archie Pertiller Jr. 19.7%
  • Pam King 18.6%
  • Doug Hay 18.3%
  • Jennifer Willet 15%
  • Tonia Holderman 12.6%
  • Matthew Turner 7%
  • Mike Sobol 5%
  • Justyn Whitson 2%

Board of Education

Final vote count for the Owen District seat on the Buncombe County Board of Education:

  • Peggy Buchanan 35.6%
  • Linda Tatsapaugh 35.3%
  • Everett D. Pittillo 28%